Waking up angels

 

This is the portrait I did of my beautiful friend. It’s mixed media, acrylic plus collage.

Image

For the collage bit I chose this illustration from an old issue of American Vogue. I’ve been saving those things I find interesting in the magazines for quite some time until I find a perfect place where I can “integrate” them.

Image

I picked the photo of my friend I had and painted her without her knowing about it, as a surprise. It wasn’t her birthday or anything, but I still felt like surprising her because she’s been the most brave person I met. Conquering death at the age of 17, today, at 22, she remains a fighter, always glowing and so full of life. Anyways, she loved the painting and keeps it in her living room. I think that’s the most lovely thing about being a painter, you always have the most unique gifts for your friends. Friends who inspire you. People who have so many painful stories to tell but they stay silent about them. People who are true angels.

Image

